The 101 Awards

How to Watch

Following each National Football League season, a civic organization called “The Committee of 101” hosts the 101 Awards, Kansas City’s Salute to Professional Football. This nationally-renowned event was initiated in 1969 by a group headed by Kansas City businessman Jack O. Wheeler to honor outstanding achievements in professional football.

Each year, 101 members of the national media select the Offensive Player of the Year, Defensive Player of the Year and Coach of the Year in the American Football Conference and National Football Conference.

Beginning in 2008, the 101 added the Lamar Hunt Award for Professional Football to honor the life and legacy of the late owner of the Kansas City Chiefs. This award is now the concluding presentation at the 101 awards gala each year.

The reputation and prestige of the 101 Awards is widely recognized throughout the NFL. From the coaches and players who are honored each year, to team owners and league executives who lead the NFL business affairs, the 101 is regarded as the nation’s best football awards event of its kind.

“Congratulations to Kansas City on this wonderful tradition,” said NFL Commissioner Roger Goodell, “and thank you for paying tribute to our game and the great individuals that represent us on and off the field. The success of this event is a tribute to the Hunt Family, the Chiefs organization and the many business and civic leaders of Kansas City.”

Rodger Goodell, NFL Commissioner

Proceeds from the 101 Awards will help The University of Kansas Health System Youth Sports Medicine Program. It will also support their staff who safely care for patients and visitors. The health system is not-for-profit and receives no state or local funding.

Presenting Sponsor

Platinum Sponsors

Gold Sponsors

Silver Sponsors

Sponsorship Opportunities